Tuesday, January 11, 2011

House Energy and Commerce Committee Gets New Chairs

No, not new furniture.  New Subcommittee chairs to go along with the Committee Chair, which went to Fred Upton of Michigan a few weeks ago.  Upton has now finished making assignments of chairs for the key Subcommittees.  According to Upton:
"We could not have a more talented and accomplished group of members on Energy and Commerce, ready to deliver the change the American people expect and demand," said Upton. "From repealing the job-killing health law to fighting rampant regulations, these subcommittees will be on the front lines as we work to fulfill our pledge to the American people to create jobs, cut spending, and reduce the size of government."
The Republican subcommittee chairs are:

Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing and Trade: Chair – Mary Bono Mack (CA)

Subcommittee on Communications and Technology: Chair – Greg Walden (OR)

Subcommittee on Energy and Power: Chair – Ed Whitfield (KY)

Subcommittee on Environment and Economy: Chair – John Shimkus (IL)

Subcommittee on Health: Chair - Joe Pitts (PA)

Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations: Chair – Cliff Stearns (FL)

It should also be mentioned that Joe Barton (TX) will be "Emeritus Chair" of the Committee as a sort of consolation prize for losing out to Upton.  The rest of the Republican subcommittee members can be seen here.

Henry Waxman, who chaired the committee during the last Congress, will be ranking Democratic member on the committee.  The Democrats have not yet named the ranking members of the subcommittees, but a list of the committee members can be found here.

No comments: