Thursday, June 21, 2012

ECHA Calls for Comment on 10 Chemicals to be Banned

ECHA, the European Chemicals Agency based in Helsinki, issued a request for comment yesterday on proposals to ban ten additional chemicals under the Authorization phase of REACH.  All of the chemicals have been on the "candidate list" of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC).  Currently there are 84 substances on the candidate list, of which 14 have already been placed in Annex XIV for eventual removal from the marketplace.  The first sunset date is in early 2013, pending applications for authorization from manufacturers who want to keep the chemical on the market while they develop alternatives.

The ten chemicals out for public comment are:

  • Pentazinc chromate octahydroxide 
  • Arsenic acid
  • Formaldehyde, oligometric reaction products with aniline (technical MDA)
  • Potassium hyroxyoctaoxodizincated dichromate
  • Strontium chromate
  • 1,2-Dichloroethane (EDC)
  • Dichromium tris(chromate)
  • 2,2'-dichloro-4,4'-methylenedianiline (MOCA)
  • N,N-Dimethylacetamide (DMAC)
  • Bis(2-methoxyethyl) ether (Diglyme)
According to ECHA, interested parties may submit comments on the draft recommendation by September 19, 2012.

More information can be found on the ECHA site.

No comments: